Portrait detail


I have been updating a previous work, going back through and I want to take it to the finish line. It is based off a photo reference of an older asian man. The rugged and worn look on his face and the texture is very interesting to me and I hope to be able to capture it when I’m done.

For this update, I’ve gone back through starting with the eyes and eyebrows. My previous painting that I’m using as a base had a lot of dark brown tones to it and never really had true shadows or darker tones. That makes it a good base to work with and it hasn’t been too hard to paint over it and really bring out the depth and texture. I’ve still got a long way to go but I want to put in the time and have a “finished” painting.

Previous:

Leave a Reply

